Grassroots Marketing

So, after a mind numbingly boring day watching the Academy Awards’ Red Carpet on CNN and a documentary about the bumfuckery of the Branch Davidian Sect’s Waco Compound Siege by the ATF in the early ’90s, also on CNN, I left work and headed for home.  But lo and behold…I was low on fuel for my van.

Yeah, I’m that cool…I drive a minivan and don’t have any children.

I also have a puppy...

So anyway…I pulled into the gas station and got everything ready, only to find the pump I pulled up to was not working.  The LCD screen was magnetized and wouldn’t change screens.  So I turned the van around and pulled in to another pump.  While getting out the gentleman on the other side of the pump saw the url located on the side of my van.  He took a picture and said he was going to put it on twitter.

I relished the free advertising, to be honest.  Then he and I discussed the Dick of the Month feature we have here and he gave an impromptu submission for Dick of the Month: Himself.  He told me that the guy who fired him a year ago just committed suicide…and that he felt like a dick, because he couldn’t help but not feel bad.  But then he disqualified himself for admitted that he felt a little bad since the guy had a wife and daughter when he died.

I’m sorry sir, you were born with a conscience and therefore are disqualified for the position of Dick of the Month.  The good news is that makes you a productive member of society!

I so love the chance at grassroots marketing, even if he did catch me as I was getting off work and half asleep/ravenously hungry.  Because that means the twelve dollars I spent to put that sign with my url on it was worth it.

~RCS

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. neil
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 21:31:46

    lol that was me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Free lessons in Dickjutsu by e-maill. Or if you don't get the joke, it's the subscription button.

