Water Main = Broken Opportunity

Talk about a missed opportunity!  For those who don’t follow me on twitter (but want to) you might not know that I’ve recently bought a house.  We moved into it about 4 days ago.  This morning when I arrived home from a very late dinner at about 4:00am I got out of my vehicle to the sound of rushing water.

I quickly realized that the street in front of my next-door neighbor’s house was spraying water about 6 inches into the air and it was creating a river down the hillside and flooding my neighbors.  I immediately called 911 and reported the water main break.

Within 20 minutes firefighters were on the scene and within the hour the water authority was working on a solution.  As I write this I hope that they are finished by the time I get home tonight, because in 90+ degree weather I quickly begin to miss the ability to take a shower.

But back to that missed opportunity.  One the side of my vehicle is a Dickjutsu.com decal sticker.  Unfortunately when the news showed up a few hours later, they filmed their whole segment from behind my vehicle.  So my decal with the url for the site was never shown.

This takes me back to a year ago when I first got the decal and was trying to decide if I wanted to put it on the back window, the right side, or the left side.  I opted for the left side, figuring that on the back only the person right behind me on any given day will see it.  One the right side only people standing by the roadside will see it while I’m driving down the highway.  But on the left side…everyone I pass in the opposing lane will see it!

Well, now I wish I’d gone with the rear window decal, because they sweep my vehicle’s rear window several times in the news report.  Especially since the picture on the local news’ website has the back window of my fiancé’s car in full view…I wish I’d slapped one hers, now, too.

Such a missed opportunity on my part.  I’d be happy to get interviewed about it, though, WTAE.  Wink, wink…nudge, nudge.

ShamelessPlug

~RCS

By the way: My condolences to my neighbors who flooded out before I discovered the break and called 911.  Sorry I didn’t get home sooner and see it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. New York Water Main
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 01:25:37

    Haha you should have to gone with the rear window decal. Having a great time reading your blog post. you know what your readers want. Keep posting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Free lessons in Dickjutsu by e-maill. Or if you don't get the joke, it's the subscription button.

