Encyclopedia Britannica, I Choose You!

I’ve always wanted to own my own copy of a full Encyclopedia Britannica, but I’ve always been too poor to do so.  When I was a kid my mother would never agree to pay the $20 per volume for the 20+ volume set.

Well the other day in Half Price Books I saw something sitting on the shelves above the clearance stuff.  It was a full 29 volume, plus two indexes, and an appendix or some shit!  All 32 books for $40.

be gone batman

But then I saw that it was a 1986 edition.  The ability to own a full Britannica volume from the year I was born?

You know what happened next.

ShutUpAndTakeMyMoney

So, needless to say, I bought the Britannica.

I needed three boxes for all of them.

I needed three boxes for all of them.

1986 edition, Yay!

1986 edition, Yay!

 

Unfortunately now I have to figure out a place to put them.  All my bookcases are full.  I needed to buy a new one anyway, but I was waiting on it.  I’ve got no place to put my purtty books. 😦

~RCS

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Audrey Shaffer
    Apr 04, 2016 @ 10:43:06

    Your mother never agreed to buy them because she couldn’t afford them. Knowing you, if I gave the choice of encyclopedias or food, you would have chosen to read. So I didn’t give you the choice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Free lessons in Dickjutsu by e-maill. Or if you don't get the joke, it's the subscription button.

